Real Thought Series: One Last Look

“People will walk in and walk out of your life, but the one whose footstep made a long lasting impression is the one you should never allow to walk out.”
Michael Bassey Johnson

Hands held to the very last moment

Looking back,  I grabbed as much memory intake as possible

My jaws were quivering, trying to hold it together

One last look back and I kept on walking

Believe me, this was fucking torture

My heart and soul ached like never before

With every step forward I was experiencing total recall

Thankful for what was and what has got to be

When you give birds freedom to fly, you don’t cage them up again

I wanted to turn around so badly, run back and tell the world to go to hell

This is life right here and I want to live

But I couldn’t turn around, I couldn’t look back

I just had to be strong and wait for those new sunrises to come around again

I didn’t want to be strong in that sense

I  wanted to be strong enough to break the rules

And go back to life

And escape

*

photo credit: www.shutterstock.com

16 thoughts on “Real Thought Series: One Last Look

  1. What a heartfelt poem. I can feel all the strong and challenging feelings. What a gift when feelings are so strongly confirmed when even it brings us to our absolute limits.

Leave a Reply

