Rock Ballad of The Week: The Beatles “Ask Me Why”

I love you
‘Cause you tell me things I want to know
And it’s true
That it really only goes to show

That I know
That I, I, I, I
Should never, never, never be blue

Now you’re mine
My happiness dear makes me cry
And in time
You’ll understand the reason why

If I cry
It’s not because I’m sad
But you’re the only love that I’ve ever had

I can’t believe, it’s happened to me
I can’t conceive of any more misery

Ask me why, I’ll say I love you
And I’m always thinking of you

I love you
‘Cause you tell me things I want to know
And it’s true
That it really only goes to show

That I know
That I, I, I, I
Should never, never, never be blue

Ask me why, I’ll say I love you
And I’m always thinking of you

I can’t believe, it’s happened to me
I can’t conceive of any more misery

Ask me why, I’ll say I love you
And I’m always thinking of you, you, you

*

Songwriters
PAUL MCCARTNEY, JOHN LENNON

*

Ask Me Why” is a song by English rock group the Beatles originally released in the United Kingdom as the B-side of their hit single “Please Please Me“. It was also included on their first UK album, Please Please Me.

Written in early 1962, “Ask Me Why” is principally a John Lennon composition, but was credited to Paul McCartneyand John Lennon, as were all other Lennonโ€“McCartney originals on the first pressings of Please Please Me album. Paul McCartney: “It was John’s original idea and we both sat down and wrote it together, just did a job on it. It was mostly John’s.” (Barry Miles. Paul McCartney: Many Years From Now). It was part of their live act prior to their recording contract, and was one of the songs performed at their first Parlophone recording session in EMI’s Abbey Road studio two on 6 June 1962.  The song emulates in style that of Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, by whom Lennon was influenced, and draws its opening guitar phrase from the Miracles’ “What’s So Good About Goodbye” (1961).

“Ask Me Why” was originally recorded at Abbey Road studios on 6 June 1962 with drummer Pete Best. None of the performances recorded that day were deemed suitable for release, and the two quarter-inch tape reels from that session were later destroyed by EMI.

It was recorded again, along with “Please Please Me”, on 26 November 1962 with Ringo Starr on drums. The Beatles also rehearsed “Tip of My Tongue“, another Lennon and McCartney song which was also being considered for the B-side of the “Please Please Me” single.[6] However, George Martin felt that “Tip of My Tongue” still needed some work, and it was eventually given to Tommy Quickly to record.

20 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: The Beatles “Ask Me Why”

  1. When I was a little girl my mother gave me all her old Beatles albums and I got whatever I didn’t already have on CD. Really thought I had heard every Beatles song there was to hear, except maybe some of the posthumous (John and George) releases, but this one’s got me stumped! I’m impressed!

    1. I grew up listening to them on the radio. There early albums had all these cool tracks. Didn’t think I would stump you with this one..Thank you, Marissa!

Leave a Reply

