Rock Ballad of The Week: The Searchers “When You Walk In The Room”

I can feel a new expression on my face
I can feel a glowing sensation taking place
I can hear the guitars playing lovely tunes
Every time that you walk in the roomI close my eyes for a second and pretend it’s me you want
Meanwhile I try to act so nonchalant
I see a summer’s night with a magic moon
Every time that you walk in the room

Maybe it’s a dream come true
Walkin’ right along side of you
Wish I could tell you how much I care
But I only have the nerve to stare

I can feel a something pounding in my brain
Just any time that someone speaks your name
Trumpets sound and I hear thunder boom
Every time that you walk in the room
Every time that you walk in the room

*
Songwriters: DE SHANNON, JACKIE
*
When You Walk in the Room” is a song written and recorded by Jackie DeShannon, first released by her in 1963 but covered by many artists. The lyrics of the song attempt to detail the singer’s emotions when in the presence of the person he or she loves. There is also an expression of frustration by the singer that he or she cannot manage to tell that person of his or her love.
The song was recorded by The Searchers in 1964. This version became an international hit, reaching #35 in the US and #5 in the UK

The Searchers are an English beat group, which emerged as part of the 1960s Merseybeat scene along with the Beatles, the Hollies, the Fourmost, the Merseybeats, the Swinging Blue Jeans, and Gerry and the Pacemakers.

The band’s hits include a remake of the Drifters’ 1961 hit, “Sweets for My Sweet“; remakes of Jackie DeShannon‘s “Needles and Pins” and “When You Walk In The Room“; an original song written for them, “Sugar and Spice“; a cover of the Orlons‘ “Don’t Throw Your Love Away“; and a cover of the Clovers‘ “Love Potion No. 9“. With the Swinging Blue Jeans, The Searchers tied for the second group from Liverpool, after the Beatles, to have a hit in the United States when their “Needles and Pins” and the Swinging Blue Jeans’ “Hippy Hippy Shake” both reached the Hot 100 on 7 March 1964.

*

source: wikipedia

9 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: The Searchers “When You Walk In The Room”

Leave a Reply

