Rock Ballad of The Week: 311 “Love Song”

Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am home again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am whole again

Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am young again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am fun again

However far away, I will always love you
However long I stay, I will always love you
Whatever words I say, I will always love you
I will always love you

Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am free again
Whenever I’m alone with you
You make me feel like I am clean again

However far away, I will always love you
However long I stay, I will always love you
Whatever words I say, I will always love you
I will always love you

*
Songwriters: EVANS, FAITH / THOMPSON, CHUCKY

*

“Lovesong” (sometimes listed as “Love Song”) is a song originally recorded by the English alternative rock band The Cure, released as the third single from their eighth studio album Disintegration in 1989. The song saw considerable success in the United States, where it was a number two hit (blocked by Janet Jackson’s “Miss You Much”) and the band’s only top ten entry on the BillboardHot 100; in the United Kingdom, the single charted at number 18.

Though the song has been covered by several artists, the most famous and successful cover is the 2004 version by American rock band 311, recorded for the soundtrack for the film 50 First Dates and also released as a single. This song was also performed by Adele on her 2011 album 21.
311 (pronounced “three-eleven”) is an American rock band from Omaha,Nebraska. The band was formed in 1988 by vocalist and guitarist Nick Hexum, lead guitarist Jim Watson (who would later be replaced by Tim Mahoney), bassist Aaron “P-Nut” Wills and drummer Chad Sexton. In 1992, Doug “SA” Martinez joined to sing and provide turntables for 311’s later albums, rounding out the current line-up. The band’s name originates from the police code for indecent exposure in Omaha, Nebraska, after the original guitarist for the band was arrested for streaking.

To date, 311 has released eleven studio albums, two live albums, four compilation albums, four EPs and four DVDs. After a series of independent releases, 311 was signed to Capricorn Records in 1992 and released the albumsMusic (1993) and Grassroots (1994) to moderate success. They achieved greater success with their 1995 triple platinum self-titled album, which reached No. 12 on the Billboard 200 on the strength of the singles “Down” and “All Mixed Up”, the former of which topped the Billboard Hot Modern Rock Tracks in 1996.  The band’s next three albums, Transistor (1997), Soundsystem(1999) and From Chaos (2001), did not achieve the massive success of the self-titled album, though they were still successful, with the first going platinum and the last two going gold. Their 2004 compilation album Greatest Hits ’93–’03 was also certified gold. The band’s most recent studio album is 2014’s Stereolithic. As of 2011, 311 has sold over 8.5 million records in the US.
*
source: Wikipedia

21 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: 311 “Love Song”

      1. That is true! I am not a fan of covers to be honest. Most of all I don’t like when they only cover in order to give them a different style… which doesn’t mean it sounds good. But some are really good! Remember “Sound of Silence” which I posted a while back? That one is good too!

  1. So funny because my daughter is doing Friday I’m In Love with her rock camp this week. Love Song is probably my favorite Cure song and I prefer their version. This one is good too…not that different, just a bit of an added reggae beat.

    1. That is funny.. It is a cool song, I like both the versions..you know how some covers make you go “why?” this one’s pretty good. Thanks, Marissa!

Leave a Reply

