Rock Ballad of The Week: Tom Keifer “The Flower Song”

 

Standing on the corner watching all the pretty girls go by.
And I’m trying to play it so cool as I’m tryin to catch their eyes.
And I know sometimes my wandering eye has brought some rain
Ooo baby
So I’m standing out here on this corner trying to find the words to explain

A pretty girl’s like a flower, you just gotta stay close to
They come and go like the hour
What’s a guy to do
But when it comes to forever, you know my heart is true
Of all the pretty flowers
Baby I picked you

Many blossoms line the streets a thousand colors that I could choose
And I’m trying to imagine the taste of all the petals I must refuse
And I know there’s nothing I can say to ease your mind, but I’ll try
The days I spend here on this corner are all just passin time

A pretty girl’s like a flower you just gotta stay close to
They come and go like the hour
What’s a guy to do
But when it comes to forever, you know my heart is true
Of all the pretty flowers, baby I picked you.

And I know there’s nothing I can say to ease your mind
But I’ll try
The days I stand here on this corner are all just passin time

A pretty girl’s like a flower you just gotta stay close to
They come and go like the hour, what’s a guy to do
But when it comes to forever you know my heart is true
Of all the pretty flowers, baby I picked you.

Standing on the corner watchin all the pretty girls go by.

Songwriters: JAMES M PETERIK, THOMAS CARL KEIFER
The Flower Song lyrics © THE BICYCLE MUSIC COMPANY
*
Carl Thomas Keifer (born January 26, 1961, in Springfield, Pennsylvania) is an American vocalist and guitarist for the band Cinderella.

Cinderella was discovered initially by Gene Simmons of KISS who attempted to get the band signed to no avail.

It was then Jon Bon Jovi in 1985, at the Empire Rock Club in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, that convinced his Mercury A&R manager Derek Schulman to sign the band. Bon Jovi has been quoted as saying “I saw Tommy Keifer onstage delivering some pretty nifty, growling vocals. Then he whipped out this Les Paul and proceeded to lay into some astounding sounds. This guy struck me as a star right then and there.” Keifer and company experienced much success with their albums, Night Songs, Long Cold Winter, and Heartbreak Station. Keifer enjoyed the reputation of being a prolific songwriter with hits such as “Shake Me”, ‘”Nobody’s Fool”, “Gypsy Road”, “Don’t Know What You Got”, “Coming Home”, “Shelter Me”, and “Heartbreak Station”. He also enjoyed spending time with his wife, Emily, whom he had married in 1987 after years of dating. She also designed the band’s unique logo and often accompanied her husband on tour.

After the Heartbreak Station tour Tom lost his voice. He underwent several operations to no avail. Eventually it was determined that he had paralysis of the left cord. To make matters worse, his mother died of cancer. By 1994, Cinderella had managed to release their fourth album, Still Climbing, which received little attention. The band broke up in 1995.

Keifer continued to have surgeries on his vocal cords. He also battled depression. He was forced to learn how to sing again because of the paralysis of his left cord, but he eventually began working on material for a solo album. He and Emily divorced, and he settled in Nashville, Tennessee, where he continued to work on his solo album. The album was put on hold after Cinderella reunited in 1997 and toured in 1998. They signed with Sony Records, but were dropped a few years later. They released a greatest hits album, Once upon a… and a live album, Live at the Key Club. Cinderella toured the United States in 2000 and again in 2002.

Keifer has a daily regimen, including warm-ups and exercises, that may last longer than some of his shows; however, Tom feels that he has his condition “under control.”

Today, Keifer is married to singer-songwriter Savannah Snow. In February 2004, their first child, Jaidan, was born. Keifer has recently  worked with country artistAndy Griggs. He also appeared on an episode of Extreme Makeover, where he helped a fan write a song. Keifer has finished his solo album, and was released on April 30, 2013. Cinderella was the headliner of the 2005 Rock Never Stops Tour.

*source: wikipedia

9 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: Tom Keifer “The Flower Song”

Leave a Reply

