Wednesday Surprise 


A Wednesday surprise 

From my little girl’s mind

She took me by the hand 

Pulled me from deep thoughts

About the next set of stanzas 

And next set of verses I could write

She took me to her fantastic world

Where fairies fluttered around

Where princesses were a common sight

She poured me a cup of magical tea

And I began to see the bright pink and powder blue fireworks above

She told me her tea was made of honey dipped love

I have to admit I felt a sweet joy inside 

We laughed as we rode upon winged unicorns 

The fairies managing to keep in stride 

When we landed, my little girl gave me the biggest hug

And ask “did you have fun daddy?”

“Daddy had soooooo much fun,” I replied

“Thank you for my Wednesday surprise,” I said through the biggest smile

“I like seeing you smile, daddy,” she said with the most purest sentiments 

Nothing seemed so important anymore 

I swooped her up and we went for another ride on those winged unicorns 

With fluttering fairies close behind 

*

pixabay.com

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Surprise 

  1. Seeing the world through the unburdened eyes of a child and all of a sudden smiles are dominating and we are riding on unicorns over the rainbow. Reading your poem brought such a light feeling to me….. and lots of smiles 😊

Leave a Reply

