Rock Ballad of The Week: John Mellencamp “Lonely Ol’ Night”

 

She calls me home
She says baby it’s a lonely ol’ night
I don’t know
I’m just so scared and lonely all at the same time
Nobody told me
She was gonna work out this way no no no no no no
I guess they knew
We’d work it out in our own way

It’s a lonely ol’ night
Can I put my arms around you?
It’s a lonely ol nigh
Custom made for two lonely people like me and you

Radio playin’ softly
Some singer’s sad sad song
He’s singing about
Standing in the shadows of love
I guess it feels awfully alone
She says I know
Exactly what he means yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah yeah
And it’s a sad sad sad sad feeling
When you’re living on those in betweens
(But it’s OK)

It’s a lonely ol’ night
Can I put my arms around you?
It’s a lonely ol nigh
Custom made for two lonely people like me and you

She calls me baby
She calls everybody baby
It’s a lonely ol’ night
But ain’t they all?

It’s a lonely ol’ night
Can I put my arms around you?
It’s a lonely ol nigh
Custom made for two lonely people like me and you

Girl like me and you
Yeah like me and you

*SONGWRITERS

MELLENCAMP, JOHN

*PUBLISHED BY
LYRICS © SONY/ATV MUSIC PUBLISHING LLC

Lonely Ol’ Night” is a rock song written and performed by singer-songwriter John Mellencamp. It appeared on his 1985 album Scarecrow, and was released as a single, peaking at number 6 on the Billboard Hot 100. It also reached number 1 on the Top Rock Tracks chart, staying at the top spot for five weeks.

The title of “Lonely Ol’ Night” was inspired by a scene in the 1963 film Hud starring Paul Newman, based on a book by Larry McMurtry. Mellencamp had seen the film many times as a young man, and its portrayal of Newman’s character’s strained relationship with his father affected Mellencamp deeply, inspiring many of his song ideas.

The recording of “Lonely Ol’ Night” occurred on April 9, 1985, according to the “Scarecrow” liner notes. The song was recorded at Belmont Mall in Belmont, Indiana, was produced by Mellencamp (under the alias “Little Bastard”) and Don Gehman, engineered by Gehman and Greg Edward. Backing Mellencamp were Kenny Aronoff (drums), Toby Myers (bass), Larry Crane (guitar), and Mike Wanchic (guitar, background vocals)

*source: wikipedia

5 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: John Mellencamp “Lonely Ol’ Night”

Leave a Reply

