What Is Today?


Down by the lake

The air is fresh this morning 

Filling the lungs and clearing the mind

Keeping my balance on this lifeline 

I see the birds enjoying their morning flight

I acknowledge them with a smile (as if they would notice)

What is today?  Another day, 

Closer to the next day

What this day contains, I really don’t know

I am hopeful for good things, good happenings 

If not for me, for the millions occupying the earth

So I close my eyes and think, aware that God is tuned in to my frequency 

I open my eyes and take time to appreciate the sky

And those birds that are still having a good time up there

I wonder if they are smiling at me?

*

photo courtesy of pixabay.com

9 thoughts on “What Is Today?

Leave a Reply

