Rock Ballad of The Week: Cinderella “Long Cold Winter”

 

I’ve been down
I’ve been cryin’ in the dead of night
I’ve been tryin’, i’ve been tryin’
To find the time to make it right
It’s gonna be a long cold winter
Long cold winter without your love

I’ve been walkin’
I’ve been freezin’
Freezin’ from a love i left behind
I’ve been searchin’, i’ve been searchin’
Can’t find my peace of mind
It’s gonna be a long cold winter
Long cold winter without your love

I’ve been down ooo, i’ve been down yea
Baby baby baby ooo i’m freezin’
I’m freezin’, i’m freezin’, i’m cold
So so so cold
It’s gonna be a long cold winter
Long cold winter without your love yea

*

Written by Thomas Carl Keifer β€’ Copyright Β© Warner/Chappell Music, Inc

With Long Cold Winter, Cinderella started to move away from the glam metal music of their previous album and into a more blues rock-oriented direction, akin to early 1970s Rolling Stones, Aerosmith, Humble Pie, Bad Company, and Deep Purple.

The record reached No. 10 in the US and became double-platinum for shipping 2 million copies in the US by the end of the year, just as their debut album Night Songs had done earlier. It was later certified triple platinum.

In 2005, Long Cold Winter was ranked number 457 in Rock Hard magazine’s book of The 500 Greatest Rock & Metal Albums of All Time

*

photo credit: pinterest

source: wikipedia

17 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: Cinderella “Long Cold Winter”

  1. They were a great band…I think they are still together right? Kind of preferred them in the glam metal stage though. They always wrote great music, I don’t think there was a need to change.

    1. I’m not sure if the lead singer is doing it solo these days. They were great, not one of the ham it up glam metal bands. Some seriously good music. Thank you, Marissa!

      1. Right, I agree, which is why I really don’t think it was necessary for them to make a pointed change in direction. I once saw them open for Judas Priest. I was with my sister and we really weren’t there for them because we thought they were too glammy, but, got to tell you, they really won me over. I was in the audience rockin’ out and then my sister looks over at me and gives me a dirty look so I had to act like I really didn’t like them. Ha, ha! Stupid teenager stuff.

Leave a Reply

