Song Challenge (Music That Means Something) Day 5 The Bee Gees “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You”

Thank you to my Sister Ritu https://butismileanyway.com/about/ and to Erika https://erikakind.me/about-me/ for nominating for this music challenge!

The rules are…

Post a song a day for five consecutive days.

Post what the lyrics mean to you. (Optional)

Post the name of the song and video.

Nominate 1 or 2 bloggers each day of the challenge.

The Bee Gees had some amazing songs way before Saturday Night Fever came along. “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You” is one of those songs.

The preacher talked to me and he smiled
Said, “Come and walk with me, come and walk one more mile
Now for once in your life you’re alone
But you ain’t got a dime, there’s no time for the phone”

I’ve just got to get a message to you, hold on, hold on
One more hour and my life will be through, hold on, hold on

I told him I’m in no hurry
But if I broke her heart, won’t you tell her I’m sorry
And for once in my life I’m alone,
And I’ve got to let her know just in time before I go

I’ve just go to get a message to you, hold on, hold on
One more hour and my life will be through, hold on, hold on

Well I laughed but that didn’t hurt
And it’s only her love that keeps me wearing this dirt
Now I’m crying but deep down inside
Well I did it to him, now it’s my turn to die

I’ve just got to get a message to you, hold on, hold on
One more hour and my life will be through, hold on, hold on
Hold on
One more hour and my life will be through, hold on, hold on
I’ve just got to get a message to her, hold on, hold on

*

Written by Barry Gibb, Maurice Gibb, Robin Gibb • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group
*

This is last song from my first nomination by my Sister Ritu. I thank her and I hope you will stick with me for second go round with the 5 day challenge after being nominated by Erika.

I will leave the invitation open to anyone who wants to accept!

10 thoughts on “Song Challenge (Music That Means Something) Day 5 The Bee Gees “I’ve Gotta Get A Message To You”

  1. Oh, is that a great song, Syl! The early days of The Bee Gees. I did not know this one but it is such a beautiful and insightful song. What a message indeed. Hold on, relief might be right around the corner! Great choice!!

Leave a Reply

