Rock Ballad of The Week: Pearl Jam “Just Breathe”

Yes I understand
That every life must end
As we sit alone
I know someday we must go

Yeah I’m a lucky man
To count on both hands
The ones I love
Some folks just have one
Yeah others they got none

Stay with me
Let’s just breathe

Practised on our sins
Never gonna let me win
Under everything
Just another human being

I don’t want to hurt
There’s so much in this world
To make me believe

Stay with me
All I see

Did I say that I need you?
Did I say that I want you?
What if I did and I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
‘Cause I come clean

I wonder everyday
As I look upon your face
Everything you gave
And nothing you would take
Nothing you would take
Everything you gave

Did I say that I need you?
Did I say that I want you?
What if I did and I’m a fool you see
No one knows this more than me
I come clean

Nothing you would take
Everything you gave
Hold me ’till I die
Meet you on the other side

*

Written by Eddie Vedder • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group

Just Breathe” is a song by the American rock band Pearl Jam. “Just Breathe” was released on October 31, 2009 as the second single from the band’s ninth studio album, Backspacer (2009). The single was released as a double A-side along with the song “Got Some”. The song was triggered by a chord from “Tuolumne”, an instrumental from Eddie Vedder‘s soundtrack for the 2007 film Into the Wild It peaked at number five on the Billboard Rock chart and number six on the Billboard Alternative chart, which makes it the band’s highest-charting follow-up single since “Wishlist” in 1998.

On January 22, 2014, “Just Breathe” was certified platinum in digital sales by the RIAA It is the band’s first platinum-certified song.

The song has been featured in several TV shows and movies including Castle, One Tree Hill, Brothers & Sisters, Life as We Know It, The Blacklist, Grey’s Anatomy, The Night Shift and iZombie in addition to the documentaries Buck and Gleason.

Pearl Jam is an American rock band formed in Seattle, Washington, in 1990. Since its inception, the band’s line-up has comprised Eddie Vedder (lead vocals), Mike McCready (lead guitar), Stone Gossard (rhythm guitar) and Jeff Ament (bass). The band’s fifth member is drummer Matt Cameron (also of Soundgarden), who has been with the band since 1998. Boom Gaspar (piano) has also been a session/touring member with the band since 2002. Drummers Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons are former members of the band.

Formed after the demise of Gossard and Ament’s previous band, Mother Love Bone, Pearl Jam broke into the mainstream with its debut album, Ten, in 1991. One of the key bands in the grunge movement of the early 1990s, over the course of the band’s career, its members became noted for their refusal to adhere to traditional music industry practices, including refusing to make proper music videos or give interviews, and engaging in a much-publicized boycott of Ticketmaster. In 2006, Rolling Stone described the band as having “spent much of the past decade deliberately tearing apart their own fame.

*source: wikipedia

6 thoughts on “Rock Ballad of The Week: Pearl Jam “Just Breathe”

Leave a Reply

